mash in strike temperature?

How to get most out of brewing with your Braumeister? Help others and share your tips/best practices.

mash in strike temperature?

Unread postby hegeyb » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:53 pm

I am new to the BM, and am confused over how to program the first step. I am used to heating the water to a strike temperature which is higher than the target mash temperature because the grain lowers the temp when added to the water.

When I program the first phase at the strike temp, then I try to program the second phase to the lower mash temp, but it won't let me lower the temp below the first phase strike temp. I went ahead and just programmed in the mash temp and skipped the strike temperature part. Did I do this right?
hegeyb

Model: 20 litres

Re: mash in strike temperature?

Unread postby Victor Coelho » Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:46 pm

hegeyb wrote:I am new to the BM, and am confused over how to program the first step. I am used to heating the water to a strike temperature which is higher than the target mash temperature because the grain lowers the temp when added to the water.

When I program the first phase at the strike temp, then I try to program the second phase to the lower mash temp, but it won't let me lower the temp below the first phase strike temp. I went ahead and just programmed in the mash temp and skipped the strike temperature part. Did I do this right?

Hi!
Here's what I do.
I set the first step with the strike temp for a certain target temp and time 0.
The second step with the target temp and desired mash time.
This works for me.
Victor Coelho

Unread postby Dicko » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:41 am

hegeyb wrote:I am new to the BM, and am confused over how to program the first step. I am used to heating the water to a strike temperature which is higher than the target mash temperature because the grain lowers the temp when added to the water.