Pump Issues

Experiencing technical problems? Look here for help!

Pump Issues

Unread postby nivrac » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:47 pm

I have a 20L unit and it seems my pump does work; however, it's not pushing the water over the grain bed.

I'm only using 11 pounds of grain with 6.5 gallons of water. It was moving water over the grain in the past but it does not seem to be doing this now.

Any help, tips, or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Nivrac
Gilbert, Arizona
nivrac

Model: 20 litres

Re: Pump Issues

Unread postby niels » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:54 pm

Hi Nivrac,

What a bummer! I have no experience with a faulty pump, but these questions come to mind when thinking over your problem.

Is it your first brew? If yes, did you do a "dry" run with water before? Was everything fine then?

If it isn't your first brew did you open and clean the pump after last brew? If so, are you sure you also screwed on the pump well?

- Niels
niels
Site Admin

Model: 50 litres

Unread postby nivrac » Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:03 pm

Niels,

This would be my 10th brew on the unit all previous brews were awesome. I clean the pump each time I use the unit. I'm going to drain the unit then check the pump to make sure that everything is okay then try again. I will keep the forum posted.
Nivrac
Gilbert, Arizona
nivrac

Unread postby Dicko » Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:16 pm

What is your grain bill.

If it contains a lot of protein eg; wheat, oats etc, then the flow will run more freely as the temperature of the mash increases.
Give the mash a good stir to loosen it up a bit and try it again.
Also make sure that if your pump is the one with the flow adjuster on the side, that the knob is set on the maximum position.

:cheers:
The worst thing that can happen if I die is that my wife will sell all my brewing equipment for what I told her I paid for it
Dicko

Unread postby nivrac » Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:05 am

Issue solved =).