Wiring

Experiencing technical problems? Look here for help!

Wiring

Unread postby Jette » Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:39 am

I thought it might be good to carry over some of the discussion on wiring and other important aspects from the horribly long thread on HBT.

Here is the plug I purchased:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093WFT66/ref=oh_details_o05_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

You can connect it to a generator extension cord if you want, but this cord is 15 feet.

Examples of plugs:

http://www.marchansen.com/tn102/#3

Some technical information on wiring:

http://www.automationdirect.com/static/specs/wiringdevicesnemawiring.pdf

You can keep your German cord and have an electrician mount this European box:
http://internationalconfig.com/icc6.asp?item=70225

From HBT:
A user says: "I contacted Speidel with some questions and they quickly got back to me. The truly seem like a very reputable company and I'm sure they'll take care of any of your issues. Apparently you got you plug wired. If you are using a range/oven 4 prong outlet and plug you will find a black hot wire, a red hot wire, a white neutral and a bare ground. The black and red wires each carry 120volts. Because they are out of phase each acts as the others neutral. The white neutral acts in tandem with the supplied 120 volts to supply just 120volts to run things such as a clock, timer, electronic controls etc. To wire the Speidel cord you do not use the white neutral. It's important that the yellow/green wire in the Speidel cord is wired to the bare copper ground. The other 2 wires in the Speidel cord get wire to the 120 volt lines. You can test your cord with a volt meter. With one probe in the bottom slot of the Speidel plug place the other probe in one of the top slots. You should get 120 volts. Move to the other top slot and you should still get 120 Volts. If you place both probes in one each of the top slots you should get 240 volts. The Speidel plug looks similar to a computer/printer plug but is a little different design made of high output heating appliances. It is more heat resistant."
Jette
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:29 am

RE: Wiring

Unread postby Brewing&Sailing » Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:30 pm

To confirm, you only need the plug, and attach to dryer outlet to get this going?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093W ... UTF8&psc=1

Just ordered my Braumeister and excited to get started!
20l Braumeister

Current Project: 4-tap Keezer w/ Nitro Tap
Kegged: Brickwarmer Ale, Kiwi IPA
Fermenting: Dark Cherry Stout
User avatar
Brewing&Sailing
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:23 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD
Model: 20 litres

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Oktoberfest » Wed May 28, 2014 5:39 pm

Still at a bit of a loss as to the wiring for this device even after reading multiple posts. I really hate the idea of cutting a cord, so I assume I can just buy the cord suggested in the initial post and have an outlet put in to match the plug. I have an electrician coming to take a look today and plan to show him the specs and see what he recommends, but still a little hesitant to order the BM for fear of burning it up or it bursting into flames upon use.

Jette - can you tell me what kind of outlet you have to plug that cord into? Meaning voltage and amps. I suspect the electrician will know, but would rather hear it from someone who has done the switch successfully.

Thank you for any information you can provide. I would much rather use an intact cord vs 1 that has been cut and rewired.
Oktoberfest
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Nesto » Wed May 28, 2014 9:48 pm

Oktoberfest wrote:Still at a bit of a loss as to the wiring for this device even after reading multiple posts. I really hate the idea of cutting a cord, so I assume I can just buy the cord suggested in the initial post and have an outlet put in to match the plug. I have an electrician coming to take a look today and plan to show him the specs and see what he recommends, but still a little hesitant to order the BM for fear of burning it up or it bursting into flames upon use.

Jette - can you tell me what kind of outlet you have to plug that cord into? Meaning voltage and amps. I suspect the electrician will know, but would rather hear it from someone who has done the switch successfully.

Thank you for any information you can provide. I would much rather use an intact cord vs 1 that has been cut and rewired.


I went through the same worrying you did Oktoberfest. It was a friend who's an electrician who put my mind at ease and figured it all out for me. First, what country are you in? My answers are from the USA, so you might have different standards if you are someplace else. I had an obsolete NEMA 10-30 plug in my garage for an electric dryer that wasn't in use. My electrician friend recommended replacing it with an L6-20P receptacle (208V/20A) - good enough for either the BM20 (10A) or BM50 (16A). There are other options depending on what else you might want to use the outlet for. Your electrician can help you figure it out.

The BM20 side has a C13 receptacle to plug your power cord into and the BM50 has a C19 receptacle. So for a L6-20P, you can get this plug for the BM20:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093W ... UTF8&psc=1
or this one for the BM50 (you could probably do better on the price):
http://www.amazon.com/AP8753-Standard-Power-Cord-L6-20P/dp/B004MB4G30/

If you end up going with a different plug outlet, then just search Amazon for your outlet along with C13 or C19 and you'll come up with prefabricated cords that will work for you.
___________________________
Check out my brewing blog... http://www.sycamorecreekbrewing.com/
User avatar
Nesto
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: Northern California
Model: 20 litres

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Oktoberfest » Wed May 28, 2014 9:52 pm

Nesto - thank you for the quick reply. I am indeed in the US. The plug information you supplied helps a bunch. I appreciate it!
Oktoberfest
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Oktoberfest » Thu May 29, 2014 11:49 am

So, the electrician came by and it appears me location in the garage is not an ideal spot as it would take some serious labor to get the outlet out there. I am curious if anyone has ran the Braumeister through their dryer outlet. I checked the outlet and it has a 4-prong plug (WS-001P) 30A 125/250V. I'm not sure if I can buy a C19 to WS-001P cord, but I plan to look. Anyone know if this will work as this would definitely be ideal?
Oktoberfest
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Nesto » Thu May 29, 2014 5:13 pm

I think Jette looked into the 4 wire solution. Mine is a 3 wire plug and not dryer specific, so there are more prefab cord options. I've never seen a WS-001P (which I think is NEMA 14-30) to C13 or C19 cord. Maybe your electrician could fab a cord for you from the BM cord and a dryer cord kit. Refer to Jette's first post for info.
___________________________
Check out my brewing blog... http://www.sycamorecreekbrewing.com/
User avatar
Nesto
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: Northern California
Model: 20 litres

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Oktoberfest » Fri May 30, 2014 1:19 pm

Thanks again Nesto for the reply. You are correct in that the plug type is a 14-30. I have decided to forgo the rewiring of a cord to make this thing work. I plan to have an outlet installed that aligns with an easier solution. Thanks again for your help.
Oktoberfest
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Wiring

Unread postby ibbones » Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:26 am

Sorry to pull up an old thread but I have a question.
I bought http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093WFT66/ref=oh_details_o05_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1, the one listed on the first post and my dryer plug is different. Is there a pig tail that I can plug this into a different plug that will fit my dryer plug? I really like the longer cord but do not want to wire anyting since I do not really understand the wiring part.
"BONES"
20 Liter BM
ibbones
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:28 pm
Location: Victoria, Texas
Model: 20 litres

Re: Wiring

Unread postby Nesto » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:26 am

It's possible. Do you know what kind of receptacle you have? And what size breaker is it connected to?
___________________________
Check out my brewing blog... http://www.sycamorecreekbrewing.com/
User avatar
Nesto
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: Northern California
Model: 20 litres


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron