temperature sensor problem

Experiencing technical problems? Look here for help!

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby fy0d0r » Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:20 pm

Meanwhile I've got in touch with Speidel.

They're extremely customer-focused indeed (even got Russian-speaking staff available :shock: )

There are two models of sensors in BM: old (pre mid-2011 with black smaller connector on the photo) and new (post mid-2011 with larger steel connector)

To unscrew the sensor it has to be heated by hairdryer.

The cost of the sensor if buying from them is € 23,-- / € 29,-- (+ 5,95 to ship to Russia) they're happy to issue an invoice and accept PayPal payment or money transfer.

Sensor.jpg
fy0d0r
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 1:10 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Model: 50 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby niels » Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:25 pm

fy0d0r: If you're planning on prying open your defect probe, let us know what is inside ;)

- Niels
User avatar
niels
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Belgium
Model: 50 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby andrewkeycell » Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:06 pm

here's my story^

the next monday after my temp probe was died, Ralf frome the Braumeister contacted me, he told, that this problem is because of temp probe, and asked me where should Spiedel deliver me the new one.

i gave him an address of my friend in Nuremberg, and recieved my detail in 2 weeks after a friend of my friend delivered it to me to Kiev!

everythings working great!

more beers to come!

Thank you spiedel
andrewkeycell
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 4:28 pm
Model: 20 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby BrauTim » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:15 pm

Just got around to replacing the probe in my BM today, it was a bit of a hassle because the nut has loctite applied so it was difficult to undo for the length of the thread, luckily Mrs BrauTim was around to lend a helping hand otherwise I don't think I could have done it on my own.

The original has one fibre washer on the inside of the vessel and one nut on the outside, the replacement that was sent to me has two fibre washers and two nuts so I decided not to bother with loctite and used a fibre washer on the inside and outside and used the second nut as a locknut, which will make removal a one man job, it was a one man job to refit.

Test boiled and all OK - ready to brew again :D
To brew or not to brew, that would be a stupid question !
User avatar
BrauTim
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 1:03 pm
Location: England
Model: 50 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby rocketman » Mon Aug 25, 2014 7:51 am

BrauTim wrote:Just got around to replacing the probe in my BM today, it was a bit of a hassle because the nut has loctite applied so it was difficult to undo for the length of the thread, luckily Mrs BrauTim was around to lend a helping hand otherwise I don't think I could have done it on my own.

The original has one fibre washer on the inside of the vessel and one nut on the outside, the replacement that was sent to me has two fibre washers and two nuts so I decided not to bother with loctite and used a fibre washer on the inside and outside and used the second nut as a locknut, which will make removal a one man job, it was a one man job to refit.

Test boiled and all OK - ready to brew again :D


Yay!

Do you still have the old one? Could you try to open it up and see what kind of sensor it is, pictures
would be very helpful.

Cheers, Fredrik
User avatar
rocketman
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 20 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby BrauTim » Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:41 pm

rocketman wrote:
BrauTim wrote:Just got around to replacing the probe in my BM today, it was a bit of a hassle because the nut has loctite applied so it was difficult to undo for the length of the thread, luckily Mrs BrauTim was around to lend a helping hand otherwise I don't think I could have done it on my own.

The original has one fibre washer on the inside of the vessel and one nut on the outside, the replacement that was sent to me has two fibre washers and two nuts so I decided not to bother with loctite and used a fibre washer on the inside and outside and used the second nut as a locknut, which will make removal a one man job, it was a one man job to refit.

Test boiled and all OK - ready to brew again :D


Yay!

Do you still have the old one? Could you try to open it up and see what kind of sensor it is, pictures
would be very helpful.

Cheers, Fredrik


Any idea how you open it?
To brew or not to brew, that would be a stupid question !
User avatar
BrauTim
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 1:03 pm
Location: England
Model: 50 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby niels » Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:53 pm

BrauTim wrote:Any idea how you open it?

I think you'll simply have to cut it open with a Dremel-like device?

- Niels
User avatar
niels
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Belgium
Model: 50 litres

Re: temperature sensor problem

Unread postby rocketman » Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:00 pm

Or if it's possible to pull it out from the tube?
User avatar
rocketman
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Model: 20 litres

Previous

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest