temperature out

Experiencing technical problems? Look here for help!
User avatar
mashy
Posts: 2993
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:43 pm
Model: 20 litres
Location: Mercia

Unread post

Good fine - good to know it can be calibrated and how to. Thanks.
User avatar
whitegoose
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:39 am
Model: 20 litres
Location: Perth AUS

Unread post

Hi guys, I am probably just about to replace my temp probe and may need to recalibrate... but I may also just play with the calibration before replacing the probe to see if I can solve my problem.

In any case, can anyone give me some practical advice on how to perform the calibration? I don't have any kind of simulator, I just have an accurate thermometer.
eg. can I get some water of a known temperature (say 10 degrees) and adjust the "zero" potentiometer until the reading is correct, then heat to say 99 degrees and adjust the "grade" potentiometer until it reads correctly?

Any advice appreciated - as you can tell, this is not really my bread and butter!
djl3thal
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:09 am

Unread post

Hi whitegoose, did you perform that calibration?
Spoonie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:06 pm

Unread post

I adjusted my zero based on the posts above, prior to this it was reading over 2.5 more than actual temp. Using a small screwdriver I adjusted the zero and it's now 0.5 under. That suits me as it means the boil is constantly on, whereas before it kept cutting while reading 102. Also mash temps are closer than they were.

No idea why this happened. Appears to be common though.
Post Reply