200L BM Modification

Did you pimp your Braumeister? Show us your mods!

200L BM Modification

Unread postby Stefan » Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:43 am

Hi all,

So I am not sure how the smaller BM's work but I have been using the larger one for a few months now and will be trying out a two mods with my next brew. Really sorry for the dodgy paint art ;)

1) Reverse mash flow
The continuous recirculation in the BM is great for creating a nice filter bed in the grain and getting a lovely clear wort. Figure 1 shows the regular circulation in my BM, The problem with it (might be different in the smaller ones) is that as soon as you lift the malt pipe, the wort flows in the opposite direction and quite a lot of grain material etc... that you have carefully filtered falls out of the bottom and dirties the wort. My plan is to circulate from top to bottom during the mash instead of bottom to top. Hopefully this will set the filter in the correct direction for when I lift the malt pipe.

I will do this by lifting the malt pipe about an inch off of the bottom and then simply pumping the wort into the top of the malt pipe and allowing it to drain out of the bottom. This is illustrated in Figure 2. I have tried it without malt and it seems to work well. The speed of the pumps is very nicely and easily adjustable so I should be able to balance the flow easily.

Figure 1
Figure 1.jpg
Figure 1

Figure 2
Figure 2.jpg
Figure 2

2) Modified whirlpool