Power lead question

Did you pimp your Braumeister? Show us your mods!

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:18 pm

Your right Paulg you need a 16amp.

Thats why i'm replacing the entire cable with a 16 amp rating at a cost of €31 to me!!
not at all happy
SPEIDEL advised me to cut the cable provided and fit a 3 pin UK plug!!!!!
honestly after the amount of money I already forked out!! not good enough.
They knew where I lived and should have supplied the appropriate cabling.
An AC power cord with an earth pin compatible to UK sockets

Not good enough :evil:
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby niels » Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:37 pm

ChilliMayne wrote:Your right Paulg you need a 16amp.

Thats why i'm replacing the entire cable with a 16 amp rating at a cost of €31 to me!!
not at all happy
SPEIDEL advised me to cut the cable provided and fit a 3 pin UK plug!!!!!
honestly after the amount of money I already forked out!! not good enough.
They knew where I lived and should have supplied the appropriate cabling.
An AC power cord with an earth pin compatible to UK sockets

Not good enough :evil:

Can't you simply add a better plug that is rated for 16A? The supplied cord is 2.5mm², so that is suitable. This would prevent you from shelling out 30 €.

- Niels
User avatar
niels
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Belgium
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:10 pm

I could yeah, but, Id rather not have to customise that cable given. :roll:
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby royco » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:18 pm

ChilliMayne, don't waste your money. I had the same issue and for 2EUR changed the plug for a 16amp local one. I also made up a 3m extension lead using 25amp cable (I know; overkill) using the heaviest
plugs I could find. End of problem

Royco
royco
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:48 am
Location: Durban, South Africa
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby Fritzkellerbrau » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:49 pm

Same here as Royco. Cut the cord just below the German plug and fitted 16amp plug plus 25 amp home made extension with similar male / female plugs. KIS.
User avatar
Fritzkellerbrau
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:58 pm
Location: Joburg South Africa
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:10 pm

thanks for the inputs again lads.
I spent the money however and now have a new power cord with a 13amp 3 pin plug, no adaptor necessary.

I still feel Speidel should have provided me and everybody else with the precise cabling without the need for customising.
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby HopSong » Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:06 am

I partly understand your pain. But, here in the US, we have a variety of 220v plugs. However, for household receptacles, I believe there are three that are common. The one for the clothes dryer is a three blade, but sometimes it is four. The stove is typically a three blade.. but different from the dryer 3 blade. Speidel would be guessing what plug to put on the end. I don't know what is typical in households in other countries.
Cheers, Bill
Santa Rosa, CA
----------------------------
Hop Song Brewing Co.
User avatar
HopSong
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:14 pm
Location: Santa Rosa, CA, USofA
Model: 20 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:54 am

In Ireland it's one type and one type only and with Germany being a short flight away, there aint no guess work involved
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby malzrohr » Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:43 pm

You bought this thing in Ireland or ordered it at Speidel and had it shipped from Germany?
Es ist zwar ein sehr gutes Bier, die Goslarische Gose; doch wenn man meint, sie sey im Bauch, so liegt sie in der Hose.
malzrohr
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:22 pm
Location: Netherlands
Model: 20 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:05 pm

Bought from their agent in Ireland and they got it shipped over from Germany
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby dlb » Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:47 pm

Have many people utilized step up or down transformers (http://tinyurl.com/ldzv54u) ? I have a new 4 prong dryer plg (the new North American standard dryer plug) Or do people just do the cut and splice to the new cord ? Seriously considering the 20L model but want to get this right ... thanks. BTW - new to this forum ... great group of guys and gals !!!!
dlb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:43 am

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby HopSong » Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:28 pm

I have a gas dryer.. so, I'm going to convert the electric 220v dryer plug to a "more friendly" setup. Nesto has one in a different post that shows what he did. I have all the parts ready to go. Now, all I need is my BM. Supposed to ship Monday from Deutschland.

viewtopic.php?id=22
Cheers, Bill
Santa Rosa, CA
----------------------------
Hop Song Brewing Co.
User avatar
HopSong
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:14 pm
Location: Santa Rosa, CA, USofA
Model: 20 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby ChilliMayne » Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:48 pm

New cable arrived with a 13amp fuse and it works perfectly with no excessive heat.
So with the correct cable needed ( 3 pin plug) no need to cut the cord or up the ampage.
Proves my point and no excessive heat after the brew day :beer:
Brewing: Not much glamour but plenty of Glory!
ChilliMayne
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Ireland
Model: 50 litres

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby sbstrd » Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:21 pm

Adding to this thread. This diagram is purely for information purposes only. All work should be done by a licensed electrician. :wink:
Attachments
Line_Cord_Plug_Wiring_Diagram.pdf
EU to USA wiring conversion
(1.82 MiB) Downloaded 48 times
sbstrd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:02 pm
Model: 20 litres (2015)

Re: Power lead question

Unread postby LMoerkens » Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:05 am

to answer DLB, I am using a LiteFuse 3000 and in that case you don't have to change the plug, it accepts the European plug. This way you avoid to have a dedicated 220 circuit where you want it or to have to unplug the dryer or whatever you have to use to get 220 in the US.
:D
LMoerkens
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:14 pm
Location: Oxford, CT, USA
Model: 20 litres

PreviousNext

Return to Modifications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest