Fermenting lager - steps?

Any discussion about non-specific Braumeister brewing techniques can be discussed here. E.g. "How to make a starter?", "What's the best way to store my grains?", "Which pH meter do you recommend?", ...

Fermenting lager - steps?

Unread postby majk » Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:36 am

Hi guys, I'm new to this and learning the trade (& my first brew day is coming, yay! :)

I'm still a little bit confused about the steps in the fermentation of lager - BeerSmith has 1/2/3 step fermenting profiles that moves up to 18C, BrewFather has 4 (but short) steps... So I'm still a little bit confused If there is any holy grail of fermenting steps or how to calculate it etc... Thanks for tips!
majk

Model: 20 litres

Re: Fermenting lager - steps?

Unread postby Onthebrew » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:08 am

if i were you id start with an ale first to get into the swing of things- or at least e a Kolsh. i am also looking in to doing a lager soon and it will be my first attempt at one. i will probably follow the quick method but will need to read up on it again first. As i recall, it involves ramping the temp up in stages ( every 12 hours i think ) for a few days once halfway to final gravity has been reached. someone on here should be able to post a link to a thread on it.
Onthebrew

Unread postby majk » Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:36 pm

My background is Czech so I'm straight to Pilsners/ Lagers.. ;) I kind of have the equipment (fermentation fridge, Inkbird's temp controller, TILT hydrometer etc) so technically I should be OK. But I'm not sure what would be the best setting to start with.. anything like a 'lager's golden standard' or so...)
majk

Unread postby grooves » Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:22 pm

I don't often bother with a step mash, but here are some pointers I've collected -

40C = 104F, glucanase rest (breaks down gummy stuff)
52C = 127F, Protein rest. 127F, Protein Protein rest.
63C = 145F, Beta amylase rest for dry beers (pils). .