Temperature controllers

Any discussion about non-specific Braumeister brewing techniques can be discussed here. E.g. "How to make a starter?", "What's the best way to store my grains?", "Which pH meter do you recommend?", ...

Temperature controllers

Unread postby niels » Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:21 am

This post is an answer to a question in a different thread. I'm no expert regarding temperature controllers, but I have experience with the following ones.

Conrad UT-200 - Basic thermostat driven outlet [Sensor type: Analog NTC (103AT-11)]
This is a simple outlet driven by a thermostat. You specify a minimum and a maximum temperature to trigger the outlet. It is only suitable if you want to either cool or heat. Otherwise you'll need 2 of these. You don't need to do any wiring as it is plug-and-play. Beware: the cable of the probe is prone to breaking where it leaves the chassis. I recommend to fixate it using a drop of hot glue. Also, at about 40 EUR it is pretty expensive in comparison with other options.
Conrad UT-200.jpg
Conrad UT-200

STC-1000 - The Chinese temperature controller for heating and cooling [Sensor type: Analog NTC (NTCLE413E2103F102L)]
A widely used temperature controller for both heating and cooling. It is available under different "brands" but the main look is always the same (dark gray body with orange mounting brackets). I've a pair that are branded "Elltech". You will need to buy some additional items to get the wiring done: 2 sockets, 1 plug and some wires. At less than 20 USD (including shipping) these are cheap and at this price it makes sense to buy a spare one too. You can find them on eBay, AliExpress etc...
There is a project on GitHub allowing you to flash the controller with a custom firmware which allows you to create temperature profiles. The flashing is not for everyone as you need some additional hardware and basic electronics knowledge. I will attempt to flash one of my controllers in the coming week and leave a report on the forum.