Has anyone considered this?

Any discussion about non-specific Braumeister brewing techniques can be discussed here. E.g. "How to make a starter?", "What's the best way to store my grains?", "Which pH meter do you recommend?", ...

Has anyone considered this?

Unread postby Sportyone » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:27 pm

Hi
Just ordered my 50l BM, hopefully get it within the week, happy days.
Total newbie to brewing, but in preparation for my first brew, hopefully within the next month, I have been thinking about ways of maintaining fermenter temperature.
I have found this material and think it may well do the job combined with a thermowell and/or sensor controlled thermostat (link below)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Underfloor-He ... 7b6c2cb0d7

I have seen and read about the usual aids used such as, heat pads, belts & aquarium heaters, but thought this would give a more controlled and even temperature.

Any thoughts!

Stephen
Sportyone

Model: 50 litres

Re: Has anyone considered this?

Unread postby dinnerstick » Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:00 pm

usually you will be wanting to cool, not heat. for when you do want to heat i'm sure that's fine though
dinnerstick

Model: 20 litres

Unread postby Cervantes » Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:19 pm

Here in Australia cooling is much more of an issue than heating.

I personally use a very cheap old second hand fridge and a dual outlet temperature controller.

Temp Controller.JPG
Temp Controller

The sensor sits in the fridge, the fridge is plugged into the cool socket and the heat pad into the heat socket. Then just set your fermentation temp and away you go.

Spunding.JPG
Fermenting in Keg.

This set up cost less than $100 Aussie, including the fridge. Just takes up a bit of space.

Cheers
Andy
Cheers :cheers:
Andy
Cervantes

Unread postby Nesto » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:24 am

Sportyone wrote:Hi
Just ordered my 50l BM, hopefully get it within the week, happy days.