BIAB problem

Any discussion about non-specific Braumeister brewing techniques can be discussed here. E.g. "How to make a starter?", "What's the best way to store my grains?", "Which pH meter do you recommend?", ...

BIAB problem

Unread postby royco » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:56 am

I did a 4liter test batch using BIAB (before messing up 50L in the BM!). Used Fermentis S-33 dry and after 72hr not one bubble from the airlock, so then rehydrated the remaining half pack and dumped this in yesterday. Still not a bubble
and now into 4th day. This is my first BIAB but the fermentation principle should be the same. I'm fairly new to brewing having done only 10 brews so something could be wrong. Maybe the yeast?
It was my first of Belgian Wit using Brad Smith's favorite recipe in Beersmith -- a simple grain bill of 50/50 2-row malt and flaked wheat. Started fermenting at 16.5°C then moved it up daily to 20°C. This is the first time this has happened.

Can anyone shed some light on the matter please?
royco

Model: 50 litres

Re: BIAB problem

Unread postby whitegoose » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:27 am

Firstly, bubbles aren't really telling you anything - you need to meaure the gravity of your wort. Did you measure the gravoty before you added the yeast? This will tell you if you actually created sugars in your mash. And also, what is your gravity now? These answers will probably help.

Secondly, probably would help if you explained your process, including mash grain bill, mash temp and time, mash volume etc. This way we can figure out whether you've done anything that might lead to your wort not fermenting.

Thirdly, pretty sure this is not the right forum as this is a question about non-BM brewing and you;ve posted it in the BM Tips and Tricks forum!
whitegoose

Model: 20 litres

Unread postby thedragon » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:06 am

Take your airlock and throw it in the bin.

Why? Jump on google and search "airlock kittens".

(Please don't take this as a DASFFS post)
thedragon