Beyond Braumeister?

Any discussion about non-specific Braumeister brewing techniques can be discussed here. E.g. "How to make a starter?", "What's the best way to store my grains?", "Which pH meter do you recommend?", ...

Beyond Braumeister?

Unread postby Cervantes » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:02 am

Hi,

Apart from knocking out a few kits many years ago I pretty well started brewing with AG and my Brewmeister and so have never tried BIAB, HERMS, RIMS or any other brewing systems.

I see on the forums that I frequent that many people switch from other systems to the BM for ease of use; lack of space; lack of time or for whatever reason.

But does anyone progress from the BM on to more advanced brewing systems? If so, what systems and why?

I'm still very new to Brewing and the BM and am very happy where I am, but I was just curious as to whether there was a natural progression from the BM to another system.

Cheers
Andy
Cheers :cheers:
Andy
Cervantes

Model: 20 litres

Re: Beyond Braumeister?

Unread postby cpa4ny » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:55 am

Well - there are what they call "pilot" systems that are used by big brewers to fine-tune their recipes.

Brew Magic by Sabco certainly comes to mind:

https://brewmagic.com/brewing-systems/b ... ms-system/" target="_blank

I understand that its consistency and efficiency is extremely high.

That said - there are a few other considerations:

a.) It costs USD 7k in the US vs USD 3k for a 50L Braumeister.

b.) It's got 3 vessels - more things to clean.

c.) It's gas-fired - i.e. it cannot be used indoors.

For apartment-dwellers like myself, c.) is a show-stopper.

Hope that helps :beer:

Unread postby Cervantes » Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:50 am

Now that is sexy. All it needs is a good Clean In Place system to make cleaning easy.

Way out of my league, but if I won the lottery I might be tempted.

Cheers
Andy
Andy
Cervantes

Unread postby niels » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:43 am

cpa4ny wrote:Brew Magic by Sabco certainly comes to mind: