My favourite kickstarter yet

Come in and sit with us at the bar. Jokes, politics, rants, ...

My favourite kickstarter yet

Unread postby Lylo » Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:36 am

I wasn't planning on going for a run today but those cops came from nowhere!
Lylo

Model: 20 litres

Re: My favourite kickstarter yet

Unread postby cpa4ny » Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:45 am

I have been following these guys' progress fairly closely since their two-rod prototype.

If this works, that would be really be revolutionary - SWMBO-friendly controlled fermentation :beerbang:

Unread postby niels » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:03 am

We had a discussion about this on the Flemish forum. It is a nice idea, but I'm certain it has it drawbacks.

One of the main things I'm not so fond of is the fact that all the cooling/heating is done on a small surface compared to e.g. using a fridge. I'm no scientist, so maybe this hot/cold spot doesn't impact the beer/fermentation that much.

Also, I suppose the cooling/heating capacity will be limited to the ambient temperature. So lagering during a hot summer still isn't possible.

The price... For that money you have a cheap second hand fridge and a Chinese temperature controller with spare money for ingredients.

Of course, if you live in a small apartment and can't put a fridge it certainly is a viable option.

It's not because I'm not all positive that I don't like their idea, admire their engineering skills and wish them a successful business!

- Niels
niels
Site Admin

Model: 50 litres

Unread postby Elderberry » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:27 am

Brilliant! Especially if it actually works. A heat exchange with a fan should be able to get below ambient temps (just like a swamp cooler), but 35F is a bit questionable. I'm with Niels on the price, but as the Broumeister has proven, it doesn't mean people with small spaces and decent incomes will be deterred. If I were still an apartment dweller, I'd be all over it.
Elderberry

Unread postby fy0d0r » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:12 am