A noob looking into a purchase.

Are you considering the purchase of a Braumeister? Please enter and we'll convince you to bite the bullet!

A noob looking into a purchase.

Unread postby Floodster » Tue May 13, 2014 8:03 am

Hi all,

I have been reading a lot regarding the Braumeisters over the past few days and I am getting very tempted. At the moment I have a very basic 3 tier setup with only 8 all grains under my belt (some went ok others not so well, but all drinkable!).
I have a few worries regarding the purchase though which I am hoping you may well be able to help me with.

1) I am a noob. 8 all grains as I say so not very much experience. With the different mashing stages it scares me slightly as I don’t completely understand them. Would you recommend someone with limited knowledge spending a lot of money on a Braumeister?

2) I have mainly been doing English Ales (such as Old Peculier, Timothy Taylor Landlord, J W Lees Bitter etc). Is there actually just a standard mashing setting that can be used so I wouldn’t have to worry about it for now until I am more experienced?

3) Warranty\Support – Obviously with such a high price for the Braumeister I want it to last a long time before needing to replace anything. What is the warranty like on it? And if you have had to contact Speidel (or the supplier) how did you find it?

4) Does the Braumeister make that much of a difference to the finished product compared to a 3 tier system?

Thanks in advance.
Floodster

Re: A noob looking into a purchase.

Unread postby piet_v » Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am

Hi Floodster, how is life under the crooked spire ?

1) If you are sure you are going to continue the hobby, YES
2) The Speidel makes multi-step mashes easy, but obviously you can just continue with single-step mashes.
3) No idea, but have never heard people complain
4) Well, it's the player who scores the goal, not the shoe ... The Braumeister is a compact, easy to use system, no DIY required. Perfect for me.

kr.
Piet.