understanding beersmith 2

Do you need help setting up your favourite brewing software? Or help out other with the lessons you learned while calculating recipes for your Braumeister.

understanding beersmith 2

Unread postby paulg » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:08 pm

I have copied a recipe from my previous BIAB calculator into beersmith and have created a profile for the 50l BM.
when I click on the brew steps icon the page gives me a step of filling mash tun with 10.98 litres and then fly sparging after mash.
now obviously with the BM you are working like BIAB so where do I tell the software this fact (i assume somewhere within the profile needs changing).
also the recipe only gives pre boil volumes not pre mash volumes although the brew steps includes all volumes.I am new to beersmith having only used BIAbacus and brewmate software before
thanks
Paul
paulg

Model: 50 litres

Re: understanding beersmith 2

Unread postby Dicko » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:26 pm

Beersmith, although being great brewing software is not Braumeister friendly.

If you go into the Mash window, near the bottom you can select BIAB which will make it close and then you may enter your water volumes as you design your mash.

What I do is start off with 25 litres of water for the mash and then add the balance of the water needed for the brew at the mash out specification.
I am not on my desktop at the moment but when I go on there I will take a screen shot and post it here as explanation is difficult and a picture is worth a thousand words. :D
The worst thing that can happen if I die is that my wife will sell all my brewing equipment for what I told her I paid for it
Dicko

Model: 20 litres

Unread postby Luis Coentrao » Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:40 pm

Beersmith, although being great brewing software is not Braumeister friendly.

Hi Dicko,
I'm trying to move forward with Beersmith 2 into a BM20L profile.