Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Do you need help setting up your favourite brewing software? Or help out other with the lessons you learned while calculating recipes for your Braumeister.

Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Unread postby Icefever » Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:06 am

As the title says...I'm looking at a recipe on the Speidel site and it states..

Method
Mash programme
1..38°C Start mashing
2..52°C 0 min
3..62°C 40 min

Why the 0 min at step 2??? why can't you program

1...38c Start mashing....then go straight to 2
2... at 62c for 40 mins

why the 52c for 0 mins? Image
Of all the beautiful things in the world, only man can invent boredom
User avatar
Icefever
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:02 am
Location: Kingdom of Mercia...UK
Model: 20 litres (2015)

Re: Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Unread postby Munz » Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:22 am

I believe that's because there are 5 mash steps available on the BM controller, and in the example you're looking at, the recipe calls for the use of only 4 of these. By programing it that way, you essentially go from 1 to 3, and "skip" step 2. You could have that zero minute step in any order, but it needs to be somewhere.
Munz
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 11:23 am
Model: 20 litres (2015)

Re: Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Unread postby Icefever » Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:38 am

Ok...so you have to use all 5 steps when adding a recipe to the unit???...I love Belgium beers and I have a recipe for a Belgian Dubbel that only has 2 grains in it....so when programing it in, I've got to have 2 steps at 0 mins, leaving step 5 for the boil?? is that correct?
Of all the beautiful things in the world, only man can invent boredom
User avatar
Icefever
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:02 am
Location: Kingdom of Mercia...UK
Model: 20 litres (2015)

Re: Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Unread postby Munz » Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:47 am

Yes, that's right. If you only have 3 mash steps, then you will have to program 2 mash steps for zero minutes. Boil has it's own step though. Section 11.3 of the manual touches on it (p. 11)
Munz
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 11:23 am
Model: 20 litres (2015)

Re: Why have a mash step of zero minutes

Unread postby Icefever » Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:48 am

Cheers mate.... :beer: that's cleared that little problem up..
Of all the beautiful things in the world, only man can invent boredom
User avatar
Icefever
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:02 am
Location: Kingdom of Mercia...UK
Model: 20 litres (2015)


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest