I have entered the darkside...

Welcome to the Braumeisters.net forums. Please read the rules and introduce yourself.

I have entered the darkside...

Unread postby Spiesy » Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:25 pm

Hey guys,

Just like to introduce myself.

My name is Spiesy - I'm a passionate homebrewer from Melbourne, Australia.
I've been brewing for around 3-4 years now, almost exclusively on a 70L BIAB system. A few weeks back I was "green lighted" to step up to a new 50L Brau, complete with the new control panel... all with the pretext of "safety" and "time efficiency" (being a new Dad and all). I've thrown down one double-batch brew already, and whilst the instruction manual and control panel aren't exactly on the same page yet - I foresee an exciting future of brewing with this system.

Traditionally I've been a fan of US hop-forward beers, predominantly APA's - but I also like darker beers (Stout and Porter) over the cooler months.
Over the past couple of years I've been trying a bunch of new styles (ESB, Cali Common, Hefe, Lager, Pilsner, Belgian Pale, Saison, Helles, Amber, Brown, Alt and all manner of bastardised recipes). Some of them I've really fallen in love with, like ESB, others not so - like Alt.

I love brewing and I love beer. I love that there are so many variables involved with making a beer. Three main ingredients (if you discount water), each of which can wildly alter your beer. And then a multitude of processes that can again greatly impact the finished product.
I'm also usually a bit of a stickler for hitting numbers, and this is a large factor of why I've come across to the darkside of BM brewing - repeatability, mostly for recipe development and fine tuning.

So much to learn, so much to brew, so much to drink - so little time :D
Spiesy

Model: 50 litres

Re: I have entered the darkside...

Unread postby Dicko » Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:12 am

Welcome Spiesy,

I think the best thing that I have noticed since having a BM is repeatability.